Profile: David Provoost (France)

ISG 2016 David ProvoostMy name is David Provoost, I am a 24 years old French guy young graduate from engineering school in 2015. I am an electronical engineer specialized in embedded systems. I have done my graduation internship of engineering school at Altran Technologies in Strasbourg, in electronical development and electronical conception of medical imaging.

After my engineering diploma I wanted to learn more about companies in general in order to get a dual expertise in both technique and management. The reason why I enrolled myself at ISG after 5 years of engineering school is simple. The technical experiences I’ve had, either at school or in a company, made me work with a product on a concrete project, but never beyond that. It is totally normal, but it was then very frustrating to create something you know very well and not follow its evolution once it could be launched on the market.


What I will prefer would be a job where you manage not only a product itself, but people as well, in order to think about the strategies to make the product as successful as possible. By doing that, you don’t need an intermediate between you and the client to sell the product, you do it all by yourself which is much more interesting.

One of the other reasons why I went to ISG, is that I wanted to take a step back from what I learned in engineering school, so that I can have a more open mind on the work I will have to do and also on the environment in which I will evolve. There is so much work to do in engineering school in such a little amount of time, that in the end you just do the work without knowing why, and it’s a pity. In order not to be subjected to your work, understanding the environment and above all, the issues that it include, is rewarding for an engineer an especially for a new graduate such as myself. ISG allows me to complete my technical studies with basic management skills. I will then have a strong background to enter the labor market, to be more comfortable in the work environment, and to find a job that matches my expectations.

While I am studying the IMBA program at ISG I am also working part time (and full time once the class would be over) in a consulting company called SII, in the Aeronautical Defense and Space business unit as a business engineer for our client Airbus Defense and Space. This allows me to use the skills I’ve acquired at ISG and to stay close to technique even though the job is only commercial.

I am now beginning to look for a technical job for mid-September 2016, in order to gain experience in technique and be able to move to managerial positions on the long term. I may be able to get a job which link technique to management or a job 100% focus on technique. In any case, I don’t want to stay in a full commercial environment as it will make me turn my back on technique.

On Sustainable Development 

For me sustainable development is an unknown subject which I don’t know much about. I’ve heard it a few time but I never studied it in detail. I think it relates to a process of respecting the environment based on the ecological and economical sources people have access to. I saw that it consists of developing actions today without impacting our future. Basically, developing ourself by respecting certain limits.

If signed up for this seminar to know more about sustainable development, how it could impact my professional life and also my personal action everyday’s. I want to know about countries’ position on sustainable development and where our world is leading to in this subject while facing all kinds of issues nowadays.

 

 

# # #

Submitted in partial fulfillment of the requirements of the IMBA Seminar on Sustainable Development, Economy and Democracy of the Institut Supérieur de Gestion, Paris, June2016.

In accordance with the French law “Informatique et Libertés” of the 6th of January 1978 amended in 2004, students have a right to access and rectify their personal information collected on this website (see the Legal Terms).

Leave a Reply

